Bastian was conceived in 2014, a project band formed by leader Sebastiano Conti.  Originally fronted by American singers  Michael Vescera (ex Yngwie Malmsteen, LoudnessObsession) and Mark Boals (also ex Malmsteen, Uli Jon Roth, Ring of Fire), featuring drums capably driven by Vinny Appice (Black Sabbath, Dio, Heaven and Hell), Thomas Lang (Paul Gilbert, Glenn Hughes, Stork), John Macaluso (you guessed it – ex Malmsteen, James LaBrie, TNT, Riot, Jennifer Batten) the band released two albums Among My Giants (2015), and Rock of Daedalus (2016).

Fast forward to July 2017 and a stripped back version of the band that has undertook a great deal of touring have released their third album, Back To The Roots.  Upon listening to this offering I think the title may be a nod to the fact the sound is songs in the vein of some of the classic rock artists of yesteryear.  This new album is pure rock and I am able to pick up hints of Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and even a touch of Rainbow.  It helps that vocalist, Apollo Papathansio (Firewind, Spiritual Beggars)has a voice that at times reminds me of David Coverdale, and at times, even the late great, Ronnie James Dio.

While the songs are decent in their own right, they just don’t hook me as a new listener.  I find that I am able to listen to the album a couple of times but nothing stands up and pulls me in and makes me want to play that song over and over.  The first track Goodbye My Room kicks off the album in strong fashion, but then is followed by the power rock balladry of Midsummer Night’s Dream.  The placement just seems wrong in the timing of where it should be on the album.  This really affects the flow and I find myself a little apathetic in my listening from there on through. The album, in my opinion, suffers from its slower offerings.

Back To The Roots comes in just under one and a quarter hours with the strongest tracks being: Goodbye My Room, Writing My Rock and Roll, Spirit with the Hatchet, and The Demon Behind Me.

Bastian are:

  • Apollo Papathanasio – Vocals
  • Sebastiano Conti – Guitar
  • Vinny Appice – Drums
  • Corrado Giardina – Bass

Special guests:

  • Thomas Lang and Tracey Amos

Track Listing:

  1. Goodbye To My Room
  2. Midsummer Night’s Dream
  3. Writing My Rock And Roll
  4. The Kite
  5. Jasmine & Sebastien
  6. Moth Woman
  7. Warrior Friend
  8. Dreamer
  9. Rock Age
  10. Little Angel
  11. Spirit With The Hatchet
  12. Poor Town
  13. The Demon Behind Me
  14. Jasmine & Sebastien (featuring Tracey Amos)

Bastian’s Back to the Roots was released on July 23 2017 through Sliptrick Records.