One of Spain’s best kept metallic secrets, Hex, returns this week with a pummelling new full length album choc full of death/doom metal music with unconventional riffing and delivery. This is mid-paced death/doom metal that is reminiscent of early Runemagick, Bolt Thrower, Paradise Lost, Hypocrisy and Unleashed. But there’s more to Hex’s metal than meets the eye, as the music is interspersed with exotic riffing, female vocals, interludes and even breakdowns. There’s a certain appeal to their music that makes it stand out from the derivative pack as, despite the comparisons it’s easy to make, Hex’s brand of metal doesn’t owe too much to any particular style or band.

It’s a cohesive fusion of various influences melded into a sound that Hex can now call their own. With members of experienced bands in the lineup such as Virulency, Tomb, Incursed, to name a few, the outcome is simply phenomenal. The fiercely titled release God Has No Name is now ready and set to go down as the breakthrough album for the band and perhaps even the whole of the current death/doom style with the band’s innovative and thoughtful approach towards it.

God Has No Name will be released through Transcending Obscurity Records this coming Friday (July 5th).

Line up –
Adolfo WB – Guitars
Jon – Guitars
Asier – Drums
Jonathan – Vocals
Endika – Bass

Track listing –
Thy Kingdom Gone
Worshipping Falsehood
Daevangelism – The Dark Sunset
Where Gods Shall Not Reign
All Those Lies That Dwells..