Panorama released their debut album Around The World to the world on January 12 2018.  The melodic hard rockers from all “around the world” (probably hence the album title) have delivered a solid first offering.

Born from a meeting between Swiss guitarist Sammy Lasagni (Gods Of Silence, ex- Kirk, ex- Godiva) and Uruguay born singer, Christian Palin (Random Eyes, ex- Adagio) while Godiva was supporting Random Eyes in 2008,  the two bonded straight away and decided that at some point in time they would need to make music together.  Over the years they kept in contact, but as a result of a long phone call in 2015, they decided to take the plunge.  They began writing songs immediately and very quickly had fifteen songs ready to go.  The pair picked Dennis Ward (Unisonic, Pink Cream 69) as producer, but as a result of showing him their work he also ended up joining the band as the bassist.  The line-up was completed upon the recruitment of Finnish guitarist Ben Varon (Amoral, Grease Helmet) and fellow Swiss drummer,  Philipp Eichenberger (Gods of Silence, also ex- Kirk).

Around The World clocks in at around forty six minutes and it contains some finely crafted melodic rock, hearkening back to the glory days of glam metal.  It brings to mind bands such as Europe, Scorpions and Dokken.  The hooks are all there, alongside some head nodding riffage and a hint of synthesizer.  Varon and Lasagni provide a strong, powerful twin guitar sound, soaring solos and some nice licks.  Eichenberger and Ward really drive the groove in the songs along nicely from the engine room particularly in Jammin in the Jungle with its Bluesy beat.  Palin sings, wails and screams strongly throughout providing a very good vocal that really suits the sound of the band.

Panorama manages to find that good balance of melodic sound whilst keeping a good hard edge and heavy bass sound throughout the album.  There is almost the honorific ballad in The Highest Mountain, paying homage to the glam metal era with its one ballad per album doctrine.  Though in saying that, most of the tracks could be considered radio friendly and overall it is definitely worth listening to from start to end.

Stand out songs for me are the title track, Standing My Ground, Gates of Babylon, Jammin in the Jungle, The Other Side and Shout it Out with its “Dio”esque Stand up and Shout inspired opening riff.


  1. Around the World
  2. Standing my Ground
  3. The Glory Within
  4. Gates of Babylon
  5. The Highest Mountain
  6. Jammin in the Jungle
  7. One for All
  8. The Other Side
  9. Heart Has Been Broken
  10. Shout it Out
  11. World on Fire

The band recorded Around The World partially at HOFA Studios in Karlsdorf Germany and the rest at The TrakShak (owned by Dennis).  Around The World is out now through Rock of Angels Records (ROAR).  A limited Black/Silver vinyl release will be available on January 26 2018.

Panorama are:

Christian Palin – Vocals

Dennis Ward – Bass

Sammy Lasagni – Guitars

Ben Varon – Guitars

Philipp Eichenberger – Drums