Heavy/thrash metal band Pirates of Metal are unleashing their first EP release in fourteen years in the shape of Cuts From The Deep, which will be available from 14/4/2022 on all digital platforms; the band are also currently taking Limited Edition Digipak preorders at PiratesofMetal.bandcamp.com. The band will showcase their new EP live at Sub89, Reading on Sunday April 10th at 5pm, sharing the stage with several other leading UK heavy metal bands including Fury and perennial Sentinel Daily faves Primitai and Toledo Steel.

In conjunction with this announcement the band has released a lyric video for the track Mutiny, which you can watch below!

Opening statement of intent Mutiny captures the spirit of the long-awaited comeback, followed by the knockout blow of the menacing Dread Wolf. Ship of Doom is a showcase of guitarist/somgwriter Alistair Hodgson‘s intricate riffing style and Baroque influences. Give Me Grog (Or Give Me Death) is a singalong anthem, and the riotous bonus track Battle On The High Seas was a live favourite in the band’s early years.

Pirates of Metal formed in Reading, UK, in 2003, the members bonding over bands like Iron Maiden, Saxon, Annihilator and Megadeth during a time when traditional heavy metal was largely forgotten in the heavy music scene. Their music is a product of these thrash, NWoBHM and classic metal influences and is delivered with a raw intensity and honesty. During 2003-2008 they released a demo album and EP, and lived up to their name playing across the south of the UK with their preposterous lyrics and adrenaline fuelled riffs, serving up wild original songs and covers from Judas Priest to Slayer to hundreds of (many unsuspecting) fellow teenagers across DIY gigs. From 2008 the band were scattered to the four winds from France to New Zealand, and it wasn’t until late 2019 that the core members found themselves together in London again. They quickly became active musicians in the city’s metal scene and played their first London show in twelve years just before the pandemic, leaving it only a matter of time before the recording of a comeback EP.

Ewan Mackay – Vocals
Alistair Hodgson – Lead and Rhythm Guitar
Srdjan Bilic – Lead and Rhythm Guitar
Ed Rule – Bass Guitar