2020 sees Aussie death metal stalwarts Psycroptic in their twenty first year of existence, with not even a global pandemic set to slow their mission to create, evolve and further hone their craft. The release of their new EP The Watcher Of All is a first for the band – two tracks alone that bridge the musical gap from 2018’s As The Kingdom Drowns, and the upcoming full length scheduled for mid 2021. The two tracks released digitally and on limited edition vinyl pass the musical torch from Keepers… and carry it forward; lighting the path for the next full length album of distinctive musical vehemence.

Vocalist Jason Peppiatt states ‘With The Watcher Of All, we wanted to continue exploring the ideas from As The Kingdom Drowns both lyrically and musically, yet still push forward into new and uncharted territory for us. I feel we really achieved our goals with this release and it’s something we are immensely proud of. These tracks are the perfect complement to the material we are currently recording for our full length due in mid 2021.’

Drummer Dave Haley continues ‘I feel very privileged to be able to continue working with Psycroptic; never feeling like we have to do something musically that we don’t want to. We like heavy, aggressive music that is all about the guitar riff. Fast, slow, tech, simple – it doesn’t matter. A sick riff is a sick riff. That’s one thing I feel will never change with the band; riff driven, and focusing on the song. Joe (Haley, guitars) is one of the best riff writers around; and pushes us all to bring our A game to the final song development.’

As The Kingdom Drowns reached number seven in Sentinel Daily‘s Top Ten Australian Albums of 2018 rundown, being described by Michael Stronge thusly: “Tasmania’s finest reach career-best form on their new album… Tight, crisply put together but best of all chest-crushingly heavy, this is surely Psycroptic approaching career-defining levels of heaviness and, crucially, accessibility”.