British rock legends Saxon aren’t wasting any time in 2018. Following the critically acclaimed release of last album Battering Ram in 2015, the heavy metal giants are set to release their latest studio album, Thunderbolt, on February 2nd via the Militia Guard label ( via Silver Lining Music).

You can watch the video for the title track below!

The new album Thunderbolt will feature original Artwork by long time Saxon collaborator Paul Raymond Gregory, who painted the classic Crusader cover among many others. 

“This is album twenty two and it’s called Thunderbolt. It’s a storming, smashing, thundering collection of tracks we’ve been crafting with producer Andy Sneap (Judas Priest, Testament, Accept) and it’s finished and ready to be unleashed. Stand clear and fasten your seat belts!” says vocalist Biff Byford.

Since the seventies Saxon have shown their ability to take rock n’roll and give it an electrifying edge which has since cemented their status as pioneers of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, releasing such world famous albums as Wheels of Steel, Denim and Leather, Power & the Glory, Crusader and Lionheart along the way.

With over twenty studio albums under their belt, Saxon has made their steadfast dedication to creating a dynamic body of a work a staple of their career.

Thunderbolt Track Listing:

Olympus Rising
The Secret of Flight
Nosferatu (The Vampires Waltz)
They Played Rock and Roll
Sons of Odin
A Wizard’s Tale
Speed Merchants
Roadie’s Song
Nosferatu (Raw Version)*

*not available on vinyl

Thunderbolt is available to pre-order in the following formats:
CD Album in Digipack
180 gms coloured vinyl in a Gatefold
A Special Edition Boxset
Tape Cassette
Digital Download

Thunderbolt Cover

Saxon Are:

Biff Byford – Vocals

Nibbs Carter – Bass

Nigel Glockler – Drums

Paul Quinn – Guitars

Doug Scarratt – Guitars

Want to hear more Saxon? Then simply tune into Sentinel Daily Radio, broadcasting twenty four hours a day, seven days a week on the TuneIn platform!