Laser’s Edge division, Sensory Records, is proud to announce the label’s signing of Swedish progressive metal kingpins, Wolverine, for the ( Northern) Summer release of the band’s mighty fifth studio full-length release, Machina Viva.

A natural progression from Communication Lost, released in 2011 via Candlelight Records, Machina Viva invites the listener into the harmonious yet portentous and sullen musical dimensions of the band with perhaps their most dynamic album to date. From the fourteen-minute epic and powerful The Bedlam Overture and the dark electronic landscapes of Machina, to the naked and organic nature of Pile of Ash and Sheds, Machina Viva is the next step in Wolverine’s explorations in the progressive field. Recorded and produced by Wolverine in various locations throughout Sweden during the Autumn and Winter months of late 2015 and early 2016, Machina Viva was mixed at Spacelab Studio in Germany by Christian “Moschus” Moos (Everon, Haken, Delain, Cloverseeds), and mastered by Grammy Award winning audio engineer Bob Katz.

Laser’s Edge/Sensory owner Ken Golden states of the signing, “Wolverine has been on my radar since their first release, The Window Purpose, back in 2001. I’ve followed their progression through the years and I’m honoured to have them on the Sensory roster.”

States the band on signing with Sensory Records: “We are very happy to work with someone like Ken and Sensory that has a genuine passion for and interest in the kind of music that we play.”

Machina Viva is being finalized for early Summer worldwide release; stand by for a confirmed release date and more on the album in the days ahead.

Swedish progressive act Wolverine was formed in 1995 by vocalist Stefan Zell and drummer Marcus Losbjer. Initially the band was all about death metal, but they soon allowed a more melodic approach to influence their sound. Since their inception, the band has pushed out of boundaries of heavy metal and evolved through inventiveness and explorative ambition, now incorporating a wider spectrum of musical elements into their own progressive sound.

Following the release of their Fervent Dream debut EP (1999, Zizania Entertainment Group), the band has released four well-received albums through a variety of notable labels including The Window Purpose (2001, DVS), Cold Light Of Monday (2003, Earache), Still (2006, Candlelight), and Communication Lost (2011, Candlelight). The band was the first band on the bill of the first European edition of the ProgPower Festival in 1999. Since then the band has performed at that festival several times with great acclaim. In 2006 Wolverine did a short UK tour supporting Anathema, and their first US appearance was at the ProgPower USA festival in 2013. Besides playing a regular heavy set on the main stage of the festival, a special stripped down set was also performed to an overwhelming response.

Per Henriksson – keyboards
Marcus Losbjer – drums
Thomas Jansson – bass
Jonas Jonsson – guitars
Stefan Zell – vocals