Nokia natives Convulse, one of the pioneers of the Finnish death metal scene and bright stars of the nineties death n’roll movement, have signed a deal with Transcending Records for the release of Deathstar, the legendary band’s fifth full-length album.

Deathstar features nine tracks that transcend the boundaries of standard death metal. Of course, this is nothing new for the trio, as many fans will fondly reflect on their unheralded gem Reflections (released in 1994 on Relapse Records), which at the time was about as unusual a death metal album as they come. Deathstar takes the same genre bending approach as Reflections and modernises it.

Transcending Records will release Deathstar on vinyl, CD and cassette formats on October 30.

The album was recorded and mixed in analogue, the way music was meant to be recorded, at JJ-Studio. Artwork for Deathstar was created by Jan Yrlund, based on the painting Strangled by Minna Mead.

Deathstar Track Listing:

Extreme Dark Light
The Summoning
We Sold Our Soul for Rock’n Roll
Make Humanica Great Again
Light My Day
The End