French black metal philosophers Griffon have just unveiled the next track to be lifted from their soon-come album De Republica – A’linsurrection.

Comments the band: “This song is about the July Revolution of 1830. Following an anti-democratic coup d’état by King Charles X and his government, France entered three days of revolution on July 27, 28 and 29, known as the “Three Glorious Days”. This marked the end of the legitimist monarchy. The text you hear at the end of the song comes from Victor Hugo.”

The album, scheduled for February 16 by Les Acteurs de L’Ombre Production takes the evolution of societies one step further, by questioning the weight of the people in the face of those in power.

“On one hand, the album is an ode to the Republic, defending the rule of law, egalitarianism and freedom, and on the other, a work sacralizing Revolution as a popular expression of the struggle against despotism and the attainment of freedom.”

Griffon came into being at the end of 2013, thanks to the artistic collaboration of Sinai (guitars) and Vocalist Aharon. This pair were joined in 2016 by drummer Kryos and in the band’s present-day lineup was completed by the addition of guitarist Antoine two years later.

Their first release, an EP entitled Wig Ah Wag, saw the light of day in 2014, marking their musical debut. In 2016, the band released their debut album entitled Har HaKarmel, exploring themes related to the decay of paganism. Three years later the band released a split in collaboration with Darkenhöld, Atra Musica, under the aegis of Les Acteurs de l’Ombre.

Continuing their momentum, 2020 saw the release of their second album, dubbed ὄ θεός ό βασιλεύς, again distributed by Les Acteurs de l’Ombre. This album delves into the relationship between politics and divinity.

Now, in 2024, the band reveals its third album, entitled De Republica.