Dissonant black metal entity Norse have forged a unique sound over the years playing intense, bleak and somewhat futuristic music which they’ve only honed with each subsequent album. The New South Welshmen, who exploded onto the scene as long ago as 2005 with their The Unrelenting EP, have announced their return to active duty in 2021 with the release of a new album, Ascetic, set to be released through the ever-reliable Transcending Obscurity Records on October 8th.

The band plays calculated, atonal yet highly rhythmic music delivered with machine-like precision which sounds markedly different and refreshing when most black metal bands are too reliant on their progenitors for laying down the framework. Never does it seem as though they’ve lost their way delving deep into dissonant territories; Norse have a predefined trajectory even with its myriad variations and undulations. They adhere to their mutated sound which is awash with harsh, venomous vocals, adding character to the otherworldly mechanised riffing and unrelenting spasmodic waves of blasting. This long-running Australian band have created singular music that not only defies the trends but also holds its own alongside that of other similar-minded contemporaries on the label such as Replicant, Veilburner and Crypts of Despair.

Line up –
Lyrics, Themes and Vocals – ADR
All Arrangements, Instruments and Mixing – Forge

Additional vocals and lyrics on BlightK. Southcott
Bass written and recorded – K. Southcott

Track listing –
Parasite Warmongers
Fearless Filth Seeker
Accelerated Subversion
Radical Depression
Zero Insight

Ascetic releases on October 8th.