Welcome to the latest instalment of Aussie rock and metal news from Terror Australis!

Vanishing Point Terror
Melbourne melodic metal veterans Vanishing Point made a triumphant return to the fore after six long years away in August 2020 with their latest album, the incredible Dead Elysium. The album was described by Sentinel Daily‘s Ferry Templeton as being ‘a World-Class Production‘, featured at #32 on Sentinel Daily’s roundup of the top one hundred albums of the last five years as well hitting the top ten in the Mag’s top one hundred album survey for 2020 internationally and being voted number one in the Australian album section!

In May and June 2022, they will be taking to the road for a run of shows on the east coast, with an additional special show in Adelaide, Vanishing Point are at last able to give their fans the full sensory overload of experiencing Dead Elysium live!

VP guitarist, Chris Porcianko, says of hitting the road: “We released Dead Elysium last year not knowing that we would be delayed “a little bit and then a little bit more“ in regards to supporting the album; by the time we start this tour in May 2022 it will be quite a while since the album was released. It’s a little bit strange but as they say “better late than never”. We will be playing live for the first time songs from the Dead Elysium album as well as various songs from our previous albums, so it’s gonna be cool to have the new guys on the road with us after all this time. We look forward to seeing all our fans and hitting the road finally!”

Thursday, May 19: Sooki Lounge, Belgrave
Friday, May 20: Stay Gold, Melbourne
Saturday, May 21: Enigma Bar, Adelaide
Saturday, May 28: The Brightside, Brisbane
Friday, June 3: The Basement, Canberra
Saturday, June 4: Crowbar, Sydney

Eyethewild Terror Australis
Gold Coast Alt-Rockers Eyethewild have announced that their new album Colours Of The Dark is due for release on November 12th, 2021. Accompanying this exciting announcement is the band’s menacing new single Nothing To Fear, a mid-tempo melancholic sonic voyage through the spectrum of love and loss in a spaghetti western infused Goth-Rock package reminiscent of Smashing Pumpkins and The Pretty Reckless.

Eyethewild are a rockin’ quartet from the sun-drenched city of the Gold Coast, Queensland. With several members of the band having backgrounds in the extreme/tech metal scene, one would be forgiven for expecting more of the same, but Eyethewild are a very different animal – one which respects the art of the song and one in which lush vocal harmonies and polished arrangements happily coexist with power chords, blazing solos and shifting time signatures.

Front-woman Astrid‘s captivating voice ranges from the sublime to snarling. Her lyrics delivered with sweetness, sorrow and sometimes a little spite. The bands’ sound is steeped in the glory years of hard rock, it has a familiar, retro vibe but with a modern, progressive twist that keeps the listeners’ ears engaged.

Over the course of eleven finely-honed tracks, Eyethewild draw from a wide variety of genres including folk, prog and metal to fuse their own sound – their own Colours of the Dark.

Descent Terror Australis
Brilliant Emperor Records is proud to announce the release of Brisbane-based death-metal quintet Descent’s new album Order Of Chaos, which is set for release on January 14th in cooperation with Redefining Darkness (CD) and Caligari Records (Tape).

Featuring members of Snorlax, Resin Tomb, Feculent, Siberian Hell Sounds, et cetera… Descent now return with their sophomore album, four years following the release of their critically-lauded debut album Towers of Grandiosity.

A tremendous stride forward for the band and by far their most accomplished work to date, Order of Chaos has been described by those in the know as ‘a squelching war-chest of punishing death metal grindery’. As the grandiose Mitchell Nolte artwork breathtakingly hints, this will be full spectrum bedlam of the highest order. Riffs of inescapable maliciousness fuelled by the great traditions of chainsaw artistry reveal gateway altars pounding a primordial blackened fury.

Engineered by Brendan Auld at Black Blood Audio, mixed by Kurt Ballou at God City Studios and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, Order of Chaos will be unleashed upon the world on January 14th.

Idle Ruin Terror Australis
Gods of Glass is a newly-released single from Idle Ruin’s 2020 self-titled EP, coinciding with the vinyl/CD release by Bitter Loss Records. This re-release will include three bonus tracks. Pre-orders will be available from November 5th.

Comments the band on the track: “Gods of Glass is written about narcissists and the people you come across who try to intimidate or threaten you. These people have nothing else going for them besides their need for posturing. At the end of the day, they are insecure cowards. See-through and fragile, no matter the size. Just like glass.”

The accompanying music video is a collage of all of the band’s live performances in 2021, Kind of celebrating the slow return of live music after having had it taken away over the last year.

Liam Anthony – Drums & Lead Vocals
Kaleb Doherty – Guitar & Vocals
Tim Maastricht – Bass

The Brisbane-based band was formed by Liam Anthony, who for several years played drums for numerous Australian thrash and death metal bands (Malakyte, Spektre, Decapitated Mum). While Australia’s live metal scene was halted by the COVID-19 pandemic, Liam made use of the lockdown time to write songs for his own studio project Idle Ruin. In 2021, Idle Ruin evolved into a fully fledged band with guitarist Kaleb Doherty (Feculent, When Death Replaces Life) and bassist Tim Maastricht (Wartooth, Kaustic Attack) and have been gigging sporadically as live music slowly returns.”