Legendary Swedish death metallers Sarcasm have released the official video for Scars of a Land Forgotten, a track from forthcoming Dark Descent album Within the Sphere of Ethereal Minds, which will be released April 28 – and of course we here at Sentinel Daily, lovers of the old school that we are, are happy to recommend it for your viewing and listening pleasure!.

Following the unearthing of their first proper full-length, Burial Dimensions (originally recorded in 1994 and officially released in 2016), the new long player is in a sense the payoff of a long, bumpy history that included demos, compilations, and an EP (Scattered Ashes in 2000). Indeed, it is the full realization of Sarcasm’s blackened Swedish death metal sound, yet with an identity all its own.

While the music of all eight tracks was written by guitarist Peter Laitinen, he somehow did find that perfect balance in between that very specific sense of melody that could only be summarized as ‘typically Swedish’ (fans of the early No Fashion Records catalogue will know exactly what we mean here), raging speed and brutality. With one foot firmly planted in the mid-90’s and another in the present, Sarcasm is no nostalgia trip, but a genuine return to form to that specific mix of black and death metal, before saccharine riffing and cheesy clean vocals took over and ruined it all. Moving from the melancholic leads of Embodiment of Source, they answer with the blast-o-thon that is Scars of a Land Forgotten or the epic-to-kill-all-epics that is the eight-minute-plus A Black Veil for Earth.
Within the Sphere of Ethereal Minds Track List:

Bloodsoaked Sunrise
From the Crimson Fog They Emerged
Embodiment of Source
Scars of a Land Forgotten
In the Grip of Awakening Times
Silent Waves Summoned Your Inner Being
A Black Veil for Earth
The Drowning Light at the Edge of the Dawn